The UMKC School of Pharmacy has been offering academic and career training for pharmacy professionals for 135 years. 


  • 1885 — The Pharmaceutical Department of the University of Kansas City is founded.
  • 1898 — The school is reorganized and reincorporated as the Kansas City College of Pharmacy and Natural Sciences.
  • 1943 — This forerunner of the present school joins the University of Kansas City as its third professional school.
  • 1963 — The School of Pharmacy becomes the only state-supported pharmacy school in Missouri when the University of Kansas City was incorporated into the University of Missouri System.
  • 1985 — The school observes its centennial celebration, commemorating 100 years of progress in pharmaceutical education, research and service.
  • 2000 — The school graduates its first all-Pharm.D. class.
  • 2005 — The school's first distance location opens on the University of Missouri campus in Columbia.
  • 2007 —  The Health Sciences Building opens on the Health Sciences campus on Hospital Hill in downtown Kansas City.
  • 2014 —  The school's second distance location opens in Missouri State University's downtown Brick City building in Springfield.
  • 2023-2024 — The School of Pharmacy receives its most recent accreditation from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). The doctor of pharmacy program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) through June 30, 2032.