The Pharmacy Foundation is an independent, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting and furthering the education of UMKC School of Pharmacy students and graduates.

Through the generosity of our donors and friends, the foundation provides substantial financial support to pharmacy students each year. Additionally, the foundation supports programs, such as student travel grants, selected special events and student professional development activities.

Ways to Give

  • Endowed scholarships
  • Annual gift scholarships
  • Century Club
  • Estate planning
  • Memorial and honorary gifts
  • Unrestricted gifts
  • Payroll deduction or automatic fund transfer
  • Corporate matching gifts
  • J. Leo McMahon Memorial Golf Tournament

Where Your Money Goes

  • Student scholarships
  • Student professional development activities
  • Student travel grants
  • Special events

Make a Donation

Donate using our online form

When using our online form to make a donation, select "Designate your gift to an Academic Unit, Scholarship or Program" and then indicate that your gift is for the Pharmacy Foundation in the text box provided .

Donate now

Mail your donation

Donations to the Pharmacy Foundation can be sent to the following address:

Pharmacy Foundation
UMKC School of Pharmacy
2464 Charlotte Street
Kansas City, MO 64108-2718

Our Mission

To promote and further the education of future pharmacy professionals in the state of Missouri and to help the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy achieve its mission by garnering and extending support for its students, faculty and staff.

Our History

In 1951, a group of people, including J. Leo McMahon, Mathew “Bill” Wilson and others, were concerned that the School of Pharmacy needed financial support to develop into a state-of-the-art educational institution. With the Century Club, they started the Pharmacy Foundation.

Pharmacy Foundation Board

The Board of Directors supports the programs of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy, contributes to the fulfillment of the foundation’s mission and carries out the responsibilities of the office of the director.

2024 Officers

  • Keith Perkins | President | Pharm.D. ’82
  • Roger Sommi | President-Elect | Pharm.D.
  • Leigh Anne Nelson | Secretary | Pharm.D. ’95
  • Robert Glenski | Treasurer | R.Ph. ’81
  • Stanley McDermott | Past President | Pharm.D. ’78 ’86 ’00

2024 Members

  • Seth Berry, Pharm.D. ’00
  • Alan Carter, Pharm.D. ’70 ’02
  • Steve Erickson, R.Ph. ’75
  • Maqual Graham, Pharm.D. ’94
  • Mary Beth Guy, R.Ph. ’79
  • Matt Hartwig, R.Ph. ’92
  • Tami Jones, R.Ph. ’82
  • Elaine Manieri, R.Ph. ’82
  • Denise McNerney, R.Ph. ’76
  • George Oestreich, Pharm.D. ’70
  • Robert Piepho, Ph.D.
  • Betsy Reynolds, Pharm.D. ’08
  • Dale Smith, R.Ph. ’75
  • Fred Tonnies, R.Ph.

Ex-Officio Member

  • Russell Melchert, Ph.D., Dean

Foundation Scholarships

The Pharmacy Foundation sponsors a number of scholarships for students in all four years of study.

The scholarship application process opens annually in April and closes at the end of June. Current pharmacy students can find the scholarship application and instructions for applying on the Office of Student Affairs Canvas site.

Foundation scholarship descriptions and requirements can be found on the 2023-2024 scholarship information list, which is subject to change based upon scholarship availability, donor criteria preference or award amount, and is updated regularly to reflect any additions or deletions.

Review 2023-2024 scholarship information (PDF)