Robert W. Piepho, Ph.D., FCP

Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Dean Emeritus

UMKC School of Pharmacy
2464 Charlotte Street
HSB 3249
Kansas City MO 64108

Phone: 816-235-2404



Dr. Robert Piepho was dean of the School of Pharmacy from 1986 to 2010, and professor of pharmacology from 1986 to 2012.  He was granted the designation dean emeritus in 2010 and professor emeritus in 2012.  He is a current board member of the UMKC Retirees Association and chair of its Benefits Committee.  He is a member of the UMKC Pharmacy Foundation board of directors, and served as its treasurer from 2013 to 2020.

He received his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Illinois College of Pharmacy, and his doctor of philosophy degree in pharmacology from the Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine.  Prior to coming to UMKC, he served on the faculty of the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy for eight years.  He then accepted a position at the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy, where he served as associate dean and professor.

Dr. Piepho is a member of many professional associations and has served as an officer in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Section of Teachers of Biological Sciences, an honorary regent on the Board of Regents and a past president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology.  He was the first non-physician selected to serve on the prestigious American Board of Clinical Pharmacology.  He has made numerous presentations both nationally and internationally, and has several publications dealing with the clinical pharmacology of calcium channel blockers and therapeutic approaches to cardiovascular diseases.

He has been a reviewer for the Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, Pharmacotherapy, and Clinical Drug Investigation. He was a recipient of Outstanding Teaching Awards from the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy, the University of Colorado School of Medicine, and the UMKC School of Pharmacy. He has also been recognized with the Colorado Pharmacal Association Arthur C. Hassan, Jr. Award for “outstanding contribution to the practice of pharmacy,” and the Colorado Pharmacal Association Distinguished Service Award. He served as the honorary president of the Missouri Pharmacy Association in 1993-94, and was the 2000 recipient of the Nathaniel T. Kwit Memorial Distinguished Service Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacology for his contributions to the field.