School of Pharmacy celebrates 2019 scholarship recipients, donors

UMKC School of Pharmacy alumnus Frederick Manasseh and his mother, Monica, (right) recognized 2019 Monica E. Manasseh Scholarship Award recipient Shu-wen Tran at the annual Achievers of Excellence Scholarship celebration.

Ph.D. students at the School of Pharmacy who received scholarship awards.

More than 100 students from across the UMKC School of Pharmacy’s three campuses joined guests and donors for the Achievers of Excellence Scholarship Awards program on Oct. 25 at the UMKC Student Union.

More than 300 people attended the event, including 40 scholarship donors, to celebrate the school’s 2019 scholarships awards. For fall 2019, the UMKC Pharmacy foundation presented 146 scholarships totaling more than $152,000 to students at the Kansas City, Columbia and Springfield campuses.

While guests attending the program came from across the country, one special attendee took a longer route. Fredrick Manasseh is a 2007 Pharm.D. graduate who came to the United States from Kenya to attend college. The 2018 UMKC Defying the Odds Alumni honoree established a scholarship in the name of his mother, Monica, to help minority students who encounter financial barriers. This year, she travelled from her home in Kenya to join Manasseh for the Achievers celebration.

UMKC Pharmacy takes honors at national APhA convention

Maddie Leal, third from left, president of the UMKC School of Pharmacy Columbia campus APhA-ASP chapter accepted the first-runner up award for the APhA-ASP National Chapter Achievement Award.

The UMKC School of Pharmacy landed a number of top awards and came close to pulling off back-to-back titles for the nation’s top American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists chapter at the APhA national convention. The annual meeting was held March 22-25 in Seattle.

The UMKC chapter of the APhA-ASP was selected as a first runner-up for National Chapter Achievement Award winners for the 2017-18 reporting period. The chapter won last year’s national award for outstanding activities and superior chapter programs.

UMKC took 43 students to the national convention that included annual meetings for Rho Chi (international pharmaceutical science honor society) and Phi Lambda Sigma (college honor society for pharmacy students). They returned with four chapter awards and a number of individual honors.

Continue reading

School of Pharmacy team places second in national business plan competition

Heather Lyons-Burney, faculty advisor, Kayla Shaw, Kayla Copeland, Aaron Hunsaker and Dylan Detlor.

A team of University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy students won the runner-up prize in a national business plan competition sponsored by the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA).

Aaron Hunsaker, Kayla Copeland, Dylan Detlor and Kayla Shaw, all from the school’s Springfield campus, presented a plan for an innovative approach to community pharmacy at the 15th annual Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition. The contest took place on Oct. 7 at the NCPA 2018 annual convention in Boston.

Heather Lyons-Burney, clinical assistant professor, served as the team’s faculty advisor.

“I am extremely proud of this group of students and their determination to succeed on a national stage,” Lyons-Burney said.

Continue reading

UMKC pharmacy students honored at regional meeting

The UMKC School of Pharmacy chapter of the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists received the 2018 Operation Heart Patient Care Award at the annual mid-year regional meeting Oct. 12-14 in St. Louis.

The award was one of many highlights for School of Pharmacy students at this year’s meeting that included a record number of 72 students from the UMKC program.

Continue reading