Pharmaceutical Sciences Chair Receives International Award

Dr. Mitra poses in his office

Ashim K. Mitra, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy professor and chair of the Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences, is receiving the Dr. Roger Vogel Award for Pharmaceutical Research from the ARVO (Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology) Foundation for Eye Research. He will be presented the award in May at ARO’s annual meeting in Baltimore.

“I was surprised, and I am truly honored by this international recognition,” Mitra said. ARVO members include 12,000 researchers from around the world – more than 75 countries.

Mitra, Ph.D., has more than 30 years of experience in the field of ocular drug delivery and disposition. He joined the UMKC School of Pharmacy in 1994, and is also Vice Provost for Interdisciplinary Research, UM Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Pharmacy and co-director of the UMKC Vision Research Center at the School of Medicine.

Mitra boasts an outstanding research record. His work has secured more than $7 million in extramural funding, including from the National Institutes of Health, Department of Defense and pharmaceutical companies. He has authored and co-authored more than 360 peer-reviewed articles, seven books and 67 book chapters about the formulation development of ocular drug delivery; his work has been cited more than 10,000 times. He holds 11 patents, has graduated more than 55 doctoral students and has mentored 14 post-doctoral scientists. He and his research group have delivered more than 725 presentations and abstracts at national and international scientific meetings.

The award Mitra will receive is in honor of Vogel, who was in the ophthalmic pharmaceutical business for almost 30 years and led the development of many of the medicines now used by ophthalmologists. The award is given annually to an ARVO member whose research furthers the development of pharmaceutical treatments for ophthalmic diseases. The recipient receives a cash award of $10,000.

In 2016, Mitra received the University of Missouri System President’s Faculty Award for Sustained Career Excellence.